Vanuatu Sports Journalists’ Association formed - Solomon Star News

Vanuatu Sports Journalists’ Association formed

20 May 2016

PORT VILA,  (ONOC) - Pacific Islands News Association  (PINA) president Moses Stevens is the chairman of the newly formed Vanuatu Sports Journalists’ Association.

Oceania National Olympic Committee (ONOC) and Vanuatu Association of Sports and National Olympic Committee (VASANOC) organised a media workshop which culminated with the election of office bearers for the new association at the VASANOC Haus in Port Vila, Vanuatu.

The discussions between association members and VASANOC focused on closer collaboration for the betterment of sports in Vanuatu as a build-up to the 2017 Pacific Mini Games.

Vanuatu’s Women in Sports rep Kathie Simon and also a freelancer is secretary of the association. She is one of three women in the executive committee.

Media Asosiesen blong Vanuatu president Evelyne Toa and VASANOC Chief Executive Officer Henry Tavoa were also in attendance and contributed immensely during the workshop.

ONOC Communications & Media Manager Matai Akauola said it’s the fourth such association set up in the Pacific. The other countries to have their journalists’ associations working closely with NOCs are Fiji, Papua New Guinea and Tonga.

Akauola said ONOC is committeed to getting these associations become members of the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) which is recognised by the IOC.

The Vanuatu Sports Journalists’ Association is: Moses Stevens (chairman- Vila Times, Capitol FM107), Raymond Nasse (vice- chairman- Daily Post), Simon (secretary- freelancer Daily Post), Harry Atisson (treasurer- Vanuatu Football Federation media officer), committee members: Albert Nango- VBTC, Rick Malao- Native Media, Premila Hinge- Vanuatu Independent and Kizzy Kalsakau- Buzz FM96.